Chapel Lane (Toad Lane) Presbyterian, Bradford :: Ministers

This list is taken from ‘The Unitarian Chapels of Yorkshire’ by Charles Hargrove which was published in around 1903:

“The following is a list of ministers since the licensing of the chapel at Little Horton in 1690.”

We do not know how accurate it is.


Nathaniel PRIESTLEY   1690-1696
Eli DAWSON   1696-1728
Joshua HARDCASTLE   1731-1753
John SMITH   1753-1768
John DEAN M.A. 1768-1813
Henry TURNER   1813-1817
Nicholas Thomas HEINEKEN   1817-1840
Geo. Vance SMITH B.A., Ph. D., D.D. 1841-1843
John Howard RYLAND   1844-1861
Thomas Wesley FRECKLETON   1861-1866
Richard PILCHER B.A. 1867-1874
William James KNAPTON   1874-1878
R. Laird COLLIER   1879-1881
John CUCKSON   1881-1884
Evan Ceredig JONES M.A. 1885-